Building on a rich History
Bellwoods Centres for Community Living Inc. is a non-profit charitable organization governed by a volunteer Board of Directors.
Bellwoods was formerly known as The Adult Cerebral Palsy Institute of Metropolitan Toronto (“the Institute”) that was founded in 1957. In February 1959, the Institute established the first residence for women with cerebral palsy located at 718 Kingston Road in Scarborough. The success of this pilot project led to the development of a much larger, more comprehensive facility in 1967 located at 300 Shaw Street in Toronto’s Bellwoods-Trinity Park area. Today, this facility is known as Bellwoods Park House. Additional renovations and expansion at the site occurred in the early 1980s.
In 1990, the name of the Adult Cerebral Palsy Institute of Metropolitan Toronto was officially changed to Bellwoods Centres for Community Living Inc. Today, Bellwoods continues to pay tribute to some of the pioneers who spear-headed innovations in Independent Living that have contributed to the development, milestones and growth of the organization today: Jean Lauder, Muriel Heyland, and John and Mary Yaremko.
Cooperative Living Project: Shared living services and program support start-up.
Accreditation Canada: Awarded accreditation decision of “Accredited with Exemplary Standing” for 2013-2017.
Organization Change: New Chief Executive Officer (CEO).
Organization Change: New logo and brand name
Community Connect Program: Expansion